Vinland Saga, Omnibus 5 by Makoto Yukimura

Vinland Saga, Omnibus 5 by Makoto Yukimura
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Vinland Saga (9-10)

Thankfully this complex manga starts with a brief characters and 'story so far' introduction page. This volume starts with the beginnings of a whole new phase. If it were a TV show, this would be season 2. Without going into too much detail, Thorfinn no longer has his revenge and is working in the fields with his first ever friend. He has some antagonistic moments and reveals his past to this new friend. At first he just wants to die but upon realizing he doesn't really, he starts to ask himself what is it that he should live for. Meanwhile the battle between the Danes and England continues on. The English have a few more Kings but Canute keeps up the battle and has become battle hardened, sly and crafty. He's even grown more manly, looking very different now. We finish Vol. 9 with Canute finally becoming King of England. Then comes the second half of the book, Vol. 10 and OMG! Absolutely fantastic! Thorfinn takes a turn. This is a violent volume but its theme is rebirth; Valhalla is examined against the Christian concept of Hell and oh man, as a Christian myself I found this chapter utterly amazing and full of Christian allegory. I can't wait for the next volume! I also read the author interview at the end of this book (which I'm usually not interested in) because it started with Yukimura's interest in theology. Intriguing.

View all my reviews